June 22 and 23, 2011: Washington Nationals vs Seattle Mariners

by

Maggie and Ashley with Riggleman summer 2010
There were so many ways I was going to write this post.

Last night, it was going to be a joyous celebration of the Nats finally beginning to achieve their potential by reaching .500, the first step on a list of milestones that Washington needs to achieve before they can be taken seriously by the rest of the MLB.  The Nats played a crazy game – Lannan had some solid pitching, Espinosa really kicked up the offense with an RBI and a run scored.  Driving home, I realized that there would be another game played before I had a chance to write this post, and that the .500 record would be old news.  Oh, how right I was.

This afternoon, I was at work while game was played.  I pulled up Gameday on my computer, and was able to check game progress, along with the comments from Nats fandom as it progressed.  At the very end of the game, a “live-look-in” was given, and I got to see Nix and his walk-off sacrifice fly.  It was a great moment – I got to share it with my baseball friends at work, and everything felt good.

And then I got into my car to drive home, and switched my radio over to 1500 AM to listen to the post-game discussion.  I turned it on just in time to hear the team say that we were cutting to the press-room interview with some major news from Mike Rizzo.  And then he announced that Jim Riggleman had submitted his resignation effective the end of the game.  I don’t know if this will end up being the right move in the long run, but after a homestand that ended 8-1, sweeping the Mariners (a team that took 2/3 from the Phillies, with some really solid pitching and young talent) this just felt wrong.  Ugly.  A total downer.  There is no way this turn of events can be a good thing for the Nats mojo as they go on the road against the White Sox and Angels to finish up their inter-league play.

It’s the end of the era.  Let’s see what happens from here.  Eyes on the prize, boys, eyes on the prize.

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

